The elemental eucharist or the elemental thanksgiving, or even the eucharistic sacrifice, is an act of faith on the part of the worker. It is an assumption of the elements into the self of the worker, and the offering of the self to the lords of the universe in thanksgiving of the knowledge of the light. The eucharist is the recognition of the manifested God and Goddess through their elements represented by the four quarters.

The ceremony itself is a very simple one. Fire, a smell of some sort, usually incense, Wine, bread and salt, the universal representatives of the four elements are concentrated by offering them to the Kings of the four quarters, and asking the elements of the four quarters to descend into the offering. To the east, incense (air); to the south a candle (fire); to the west wine (water); and to the north bread and salt (earth). The dedicated elements are then brought to the high priestess near the altar, for distribution. If no priestess is present, then the priest or celebrant himself distributes the elements.

She says,
“Smell with me this incense, the symbol of air”.
(All smell)

“Feel the warmth of this candle, the symbol of fire”.
(All feel heat from the candle)

“Eat with me this bread and salt the symbol of the earth”.
(All eat)

“And finally, drink with me this wine, the symbol of water”.
(All drink, all of the bread and wine must be consumed.)

All stand a moment in meditation.

This ceremony can be quite beautiful if the dedicants invoke the elements eloquently. It is a moving ritual. Almost immediately the student feels some identity with the four quarters, and after some study of the elements and their meaning a feeling of rapture quickly evolves. It must be performed slowly and with dignity, without conversation, and with undivided attention directed to the concentration and consumption.